Need some advice! Long...

This section is for discussions with other women who have probably been through the same signs/symptoms that you may be experiencing. Please note, we cannot offer medical advice and encourage members to discuss their concerns with their doctors. New members, come on in and introduce yourself!
taras mom

Re : Need some advice! Long...

Postby taras mom » Wed Jun 11, 2008 03:29 am

I have no experience with family court, but everything I've read emphasizes the importance of documentation. Keep a written log of dates, times, events, witnesses--any information that supports your claims. That way, if you decide not to go to court until after the baby is born, you'll have a record of everything that has happened in the meantime, and you won't have to rely on your memory. Also, let him know that you're keeping records and that you intend to use them; that way, he won't get the idea that you're just letting things slide, and maybe it will motivate him to stick to your agreement. Good luck!

hvsmith

Postby hvsmith » Sun Jun 08, 2008 02:57 pm

Hi amarah,

I just wanted to say that I understand all too well what you are going through. My custody issues have lasted since 2004. The unfortunate part about it is that matters of custody are rarely "finished"... they can always be revisited in court.

That said, and with our experiences being the same, I do believe that if you have a court order in hand, and you know that it is not being followed by your ex, you can go to the Sheriff's department and ask that someone accompany you while you go and enforce the order. This won't work unless you know that the order is actively being violated when you go there, for example, the Sheriff could accompany you to go and retrieve your daughter at your ex's parents house if there is no order in place that says they should be there. You may be able to do this a few times, and it's free, and the Sheriff is there to ensure that it goes smoothly.