Preeclampsia or just hypertension?

This section is for discussions with other women who have probably been through the same signs/symptoms that you may be experiencing. Please note, we cannot offer medical advice and encourage members to discuss their concerns with their doctors. New members, come on in and introduce yourself!
duhitstaken

Re : Preeclampsia or just hypertension?

Postby duhitstaken » Wed Feb 03, 2010 03:59 pm

I was just wondering how things are going with you and if you got your 24-hours urine back...thanks

hillary8l8

Postby hillary8l8 » Wed Feb 03, 2010 03:36 pm

I don't have much advice to offer, but I did want to say hello and that I'm a respiratory therapist too! I'm 30 weeks, and take Labetalol 200 mg 2 times a day as well. I've been on bedrest for a week, and I have also noticed my symptoms improving. I'm lucky that my OB is very proactive, and I have had 2 24 hour urines already, but am still considered PIH because I don't meet the diagnostic criteria for protein. I'm glad that your Dr finally ordered the 24 hour urine. I hope things go well for you.

lilillini

Postby lilillini » Tue Feb 02, 2010 05:59 pm

160/110 is extremely high blood pressure, especially on meds. Even if you have no protein whatsoever, your blood pressure is high enough to be considered severe PIH. You're 36 weeks now, correct?

Have you talked to your doctor about what his plan is? As in, if you stay stable, when will you deliver; what blood pressures you are supposed to go to the hospital at (if not 160/110!), etc.

deerhart

Postby deerhart » Tue Feb 02, 2010 05:54 pm

technically the difference between PE and PIH (pregnancy induced hypertension, which is another term that is used for hypertension that papers after 20 weeks) is less then 300mg of protein in the urine.