Post Reply FAQ Members Login

Question about protein in urine

This section is for discussions with other women who have probably been through the same signs/symptoms that you may be experiencing. Please note, we cannot offer medical advice and encourage members to discuss their concerns with their doctors. New members, come on in and introduce yourself!

Question about protein in urine

Postby MrsB0427 » Fri May 17, 2013 08:38 am

by MrsB0427 (1 Posts), Fri May 17, 2013 08:38 am

Hi everyone. Newbie here!

A quick backstory before I get to my question. I have a 6 y/o daughter with my ex husband. At around 30 weeks I was taken out on bedrest and monitored due to "Pregnancy Induced Hypertension" and spilling protein in my urine. I do not know the amount. My blood pressure had been steadily rising since the 6 month mark... I had severe vision issues (spots / blurry / etc) and omg the swelling. I went in for pre-term labor just prior to being taken out on bedrest. At my follow up appointment, I had gained 9lbs (it had been a week) and they took me out on bedrest "just to be safe".

I had my daughter via c-section at 38 weeks. I cannot remember what my BP readings were in the weeks leading to the c-section (it was scheduled, not emergency). When I was in the OR delivering my baby, my BP was 170/90. I remember that clearly.

I stayed in the hospital for a week while they monitored my BP (it wouldn't drop). I'm normally, unfailingly, a 110/60. Despite all of the above signs, my doctors at the time (a huge practice) fought me on the diagnosis. They wouldn't listen to me as I pointed out with concern my slowly creeping BP. They have always maintained I simply had "PIH" and that the bedrest was just a precaution. I was naive and never thought to pursue a second opinion, and as such... I never really stressed the whole time. I just thought I had bad swelling and they were just "being careful".