First Time Here....needed to share

A place for those bereaved to receive and offer support

First Time Here....needed to share

Postby forlogan » Sat Oct 02, 2004 10:45 pm

This is my first time here in the forum....I read Amanda's story and I can feel her pain. It brought me back to the day I had to pick up my son Logan's ashes. I just sat and stared at the tiny little box they handed me and I couldn't even speak. My son, Logan, was stillborn due to PE on May 16, 2004 at 25w. I was told about 7 weeks prior that I had a placental abruption, but not to worry that a lot of women go full term with this condition. PE was never mentioned at this point as I had no other symptoms. When I read Amanda's story about not having any warning signs, it hit close to home. My pregnancy was "normal" until I had a high AFP test and then all seemed OK even then. I had a completely normal OB appt. about 3 weeks before my son was born and we were completely caught off guard. I have lost 4 babies in miscarriage before the 8th week. We thought finally we made it this far and then to have it ripped away from us...it has been devastating.

I'm sitting here tonight and I don't really know what I want to get from this forum, but maybe some comfort. As all of us know, we have "good" days and "bad" days. It seems I've had more of the latter lately. I'm finally ready to try to get some input on some of the things I've been feeling. I had a friend ask me today if I'm getting any grief counseling and I replied "no"! I think I need it though.

I feel anger and sadness that so many of us have had to endure this trauma. It feels like the worst reality check you can imagine. I have a wonderful life. We have a beautiful daughter whom I never had any complications with in that pregnancy and I just wonder, "Why me?" I can't answer that, the Doc's can't answer that. I'm just so frustrated.