Thinking about pregnancy after postpart p/e

Are you pregnant again after having preeclampsia once already in a previous pregnancy? Post your thoughts/concerns here - there are others who share your feelings. This is also the home of our Bedrest Buddies Support group.

Thinking about pregnancy after postpart p/e

Postby myboyz801 » Tue Mar 23, 2004 01:09 pm

This is my first time posting so bear with me... depending on which dr. you speak to --- the ER dr. or my OB -- 6 days after delivery I was, by the grace of god, back at the hospital only because my baby had severe jaundice and was admitted. Early that day I had noticed that I was swollen and we joked about it because I don't normally swell especially after the pregnancy. Like I said luckily my baby was re-admit for billi lights and at 12am I was trapped in his hospital room. unable to move or speak but still had enough sense that something was deparetly wrong...his nurse came in and I looked at her and pointed to my feet she said not good took b/p 195/110 and then took a scary ride down the elevator to the er where full trama procedure took place. After mega dose of mag. and additional bag or mag 12 hours later I was released from hospital with ooo's and aaaah's of how lucky I was to be at the hospital otherwise things could have been dramatically different. Then my OB says he's not convinced that it was post part. p/e so needless to say very confused. My husband is terrified that I would like to have another baby. My current gyn says he sure it was p/e and should be very carefull about another pregnancy --- anyone out there with similar situation or words or advise?

Thanks-

Jenny
Eureka Missouri
myboyz801

Re : Thinking about pregnancy after postpart p/e

Postby mada » Tue Mar 23, 2004 01:15 pm

Hi Jenny,