Did your preemie suffer permanent brain damage?

Are you part of the NICU club? Do you have a child who is still struggling with the effects of being born too soon from preeclampsia? Share your concerns and stories here among parents who have been there.
hannahsmom

Re : Did your preemie suffer permanent brain damage?

Postby hannahsmom » Sat Mar 18, 2006 07:41 pm

AmiJo-

Our OT had us watch the "Out of Sync Child" Video. It was great and answered so many questions. When the woman was talking, I just kept saying, "That's my child she's talking about!"

amiejo

Postby amiejo » Sat Mar 18, 2006 04:01 pm

I am so sorry you are having to go through this. It has always been my fear that my children will have some type of disorder or something. As a psychologist, I always seem to "know to much" and over analyze the tiniest issue in my own kids. I have to put away that hat all the time.

But as some others have said...it really sounds like you are dealing with some sensory integration or processing disorder. There is a really good book written by a parent with these issues. You may find it helpful. It called "The Out of Sync Child" and it has a second activity book also called "The Out of Sync Child has Fun". Alot of parents I work with enjoy these books and use the easy activities to help their children learn to deal with with their sensory input needs (with the help of an OT).

I hope you get lots of answers soon. Please keep us posted and if you need anything, let me know.

cindync

Postby cindync » Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:26 pm

I do not know anything like some people on here, but one thing I heard a lot of when I was on Russian adoption lists was something called Central Auditory Processing disorder (or something like that). I guess Michelle could probably explain it. I think it fell under the sensory issues.

hannahsmom

Postby hannahsmom » Fri Mar 17, 2006 06:42 pm

Hi, Jenn -