Preemie Check-in

Are you part of the NICU club? Do you have a child who is still struggling with the effects of being born too soon from preeclampsia? Share your concerns and stories here among parents who have been there.
landb

Re : Preemie Check-in

Postby landb » Sun Mar 30, 2008 08:07 am

Just wanted to update everyone on Benjamin Aidan who was born last Saturday, the 22nd. He was a 33 weeker, at 3 lbs 6 oz. He has been doing great in the SCN; was on CPAP for about 18 hr, then graduated to the step down unit. He had his first weight gain yesterday, and is back over 3 lbs. Has been put on theophylline for a few As and Bs, and has the old blue light treatment, but other than that has had no health issues.

Laura and Brian

momma1408

Postby momma1408 » Sat Mar 29, 2008 08:17 pm

Well this is my first time posting about my son Scott. My son was born at 32 weeks due to severe PE and HELLP on January 4, 2008. He was born in respiratory distress and had a grade 1 IVH which is resolving. He was a very poor eater so he didn't wanna gain weight and also he was jaundice. When he was born he was intibated and on a ventilator for one day then put on a C-PAP and later put onto a nasal canula. Scott is now up to 3 ounces every feed and is getting the hang of the whole gaining weight thing. And was on the billiruben lights for a while. He was in the NICU in a level 1 trauma center for 46 days. Scott was sent home on an apnea monitor on February 18, 2008. He is still on the monitor and will hopefully be off it on April 4th at his next preemie clinic appointment. He is now about 7 lbs. and will be three months old on April 3rd. He is doing good now that we finally found a formula his body will tolerate after discovering his milk protein intolerance and his soy allergy which he will hopefully outgrow!! At three months old he is just now starting to outgrow preemie clothes and growing into some of his newborn clothes. Scott is very good at holding up his head on his own and star