Drake's surgery this Wednesday

So, the baby's born, what comes next? Discuss your postpartum and parenting concerns here.
christine lyn

Re : Drake's surgery this Wednesday

Postby christine lyn » Sat Apr 06, 638312 12:08 pm

Hope everything went well with Drake's surgery. My son had the hyperspadius and had it repaired as well. I'll be thinking of him.

amanda
Forum Moderator

Postby amanda » Fri Apr 05, 638312 12:47 pm

I hope things go well.
For what it's worth, when I was a nurse and did some peds work we had a lot of little boys with this condition and believe me, they did GREAT - like hardly noticed it at all. The bandage is a little 'large' in that it is wrapped around his little self but it's like being circ'ed it heals really really fast.

Hoping you guys are already home and that Drake is up and active already!

sonja
Forum Moderator

Postby sonja » Fri Apr 05, 638312 2:45 am

Thinking of you all today.

melly

Postby melly » Wed Apr 03, 638312 10:00 pm

I agree with Kara, bring a lovey. I brought my son's favorite pillow and stuffed elephant to his hernia surgery. And let him wear his pj's.

Another thing that I wish I'd known is that you can get any perscription meds flavored at pharmacies like Target and CVS. Cameron was perscribed Tylenol w/ codiene and I had it filled the day before his surgery so I'd have it on hand when we got home. They gave me a second perscription on the way out of the hospital by mistake. I tried to give him some when we got home and he couldn't swallow it. He spit most of it out. I had to hold him down to make him take some because he was in pain. I filled the second script at Target and had them flavor it grape and he still wouldn't take it, but I wonder if he would have if he had tried it first. I've never had any problems giving him meds before. And now he won't even take Children's Tylenol without smelling it first. Its frustrating when they are in pain and won't take their meds.