Went to my pre-conception appointment this week

Are you considering having another child after preeclampsia? Trying again after preeclampsia can be an emotional challenge. You can find support with others who share your concerns here.
shannons

Re : Went to my pre-conception appointment this week

Postby shannons » Fri Aug 05, 637966 10:47 pm

Oligo is short for oligohydramnios. Dorland's Medical Dictionary says this:

[oligo- + Gr. hydor water + amnion] the presence of less than the normal amount of amniotic fluid; defined as 500 ml or less at term and smaller amounts at ealier gestational ages.

From my medical knowledge, it means there's not as much room for baby to move, can cause stress on the baby and also there's not as much cushion and lubricant for movement and/or bumps from outside. The main thing they worry about is the physical stress it puts on the baby.

*Note - I'm not a doctor. The info I have comes from years of transcribing medical reports.

heather j
Forum Moderator

Postby heather j » Tue Jul 26, 637966 1:05 pm

Hey, Cara. Definitely stick it out with your OB since you were so pleased with your care with them; mine weren't so hot. Oligo is too little amniotic fluid. Here's a link to the March of Dimes page on it:

http://www.marchofdimes.com/pnhec/188_1033.asp

I know I've seen quite a few people here who were dxed with it, so maybe try searching using the search tool if the link above doesn't tell you enough.

BTW If I recall correctly, you live sort of near me (by sort of, I'm thinking an hour max). If that's the case, I can give you the names of some peris/MFM docs in my area who could consult. Email me if you want them! Best wishes!

missgamecock

Postby missgamecock » Tue Jul 26, 637966 10:10 am