New diagnosis..confused

leprdmom

Re: New diagnosis..confused

Postby leprdmom » Sun Oct 23, 2016 07:52 pm

Hi there...
Even though I am an OB nurse by trade, I could never diagnose you. Having had pre-elcampsia 5x (yes 5x), my symptoms were different each time and presented at different points in my pregnancies. My first pregnancy, my dd was born at 32weeks, the next 3 were term deliveries and the pre-e crept in as I was going into labor, not before and my last pregnancy (twins), my MD's were watching me closely knowing my history...my protein kept creeping up, my bp's kept creeping up and finally they said, we just need to get this done (I felt fine!) So there is no textbook answer to your question. In the "old days", they used to call it a "triad" of symptoms which would confirm pre-e or not....protein, high bp and extreme swelling...it is not that cut and dry now however. Pre-eclampsia can be very stealth in its approach...your MD seems to be wavering on whether you have it or not but is being cautiously optimistic. Follow her directions....check your blood pressure often (if you haven't gotten a machine yet, go get one)..if it gets close to her parameters--->call your MD; if you have swelling in your face or hands -->call your MD; if that nagging headache doesn't go away--->call your MD.

Your other symptoms can just be pregnancy related or UTI related --just make sure your MD is aware of them. Constipation is common especially while on prenatal vitamins (and possibly an add'l iron supplement?) and hormones; the burning pain could be reflux, again common due to hormones.

Always air to the side of caution and call MD if you feel like something does not seem normal or if you're just not sure. Don't take anything for granted--that bp of 160/100 CAN happen.

Hopefully I gave you a little professional and personal insight..good luck to you!!!!

7isHeaven

New diagnosis..confused

Postby 7isHeaven » Wed Oct 12, 2016 01:29 am