HELLP 7 years ago; fear of second pregnancy and now in 40s

Have you suffered from HELLP syndrome or had a pregnancy complicated by an underlying disorder? Discuss your concerns here

HELLP 7 years ago; fear of second pregnancy and now in 40s

Postby HELLPSurvivorsUnite » Mon Jan 27, 2014 01:34 pm

This is my first time posting here.

I had my beautiful DD 7 years ago, and had a severe case of HELLP that went undiagnosed and frankly, with symptoms beginning around 30 weeks dismissed by my rushed OBGyn. I began gaining huge amounts of weight in my third trimester, but the doctor's scale was old and broken and got stuck at a certain weight (they only realized this after my delivery). When I told her at each visit that my home scale registered a higher weight and that I was concerned, she dismissed my concerns and told me to see a nutritionist.

Next, I had floaters, epigastric pain, and general malaise -- all dismissed by this high risk ObGyn (seeing her due to ancicardiolipin antibodies and multiple allergies). That lasted from weeks 30-37. My bloodwork (which I requisitioned only later on) at 31-32 weeks revealed severe abnormalities -- clearly not noticed by her at the time.

Finally, at almost 37 1/2 weeks, I was itchy all over and called her office. The doctor's *secretary* dismissed me and said it was normal to be itchy at the end of pregnancy. I insisted and told her I was feeling very unwell. She told me to come in to see the doctor. ObGyn was again dismissive, but said she would do bloodwork, which she did.

That night, the ObGyn called me at 9 pm (never good) and this time, *she* was panicked, telling me to come in first thing in the morning for more testing. At the time, she thought it was cholestasis.