Differing BPs in arms?

This section is for discussions with other women who have probably been through the same signs/symptoms that you may be experiencing. Please note, we cannot offer medical advice and encourage members to discuss their concerns with their doctors. New members, come on in and introduce yourself!
corretta

Re : Differing BPs in arms?

Postby corretta » Thu Jan 26, 637662 9:30 am

I know that every time i've ever had my bp taken, it was always in the left arm. I know that the main vein to your heart runs through your left arm so I alway assumed that's why. Even when you go to walmart or places like that, the arm cuff is always set on the left hand side. So I assume the left arm is what you go by, but then again I have no medical knowledge at all.

countrymom2e

Postby countrymom2e » Wed Jan 25, 637662 8:27 pm

Thanks ladies! I will use the first number on my right arm (which is the arm I've been using to track) but note if the first number on my left is significantly different. It concerns me that at NST they are not consistent with what arm to use. Wish I'd known that a few weeks ago!

Thanks also for the P&PT.... hopefully next time you hear from me will be next week after we're home from the hospital [:D]

deerhart

Postby deerhart » Wed Jan 25, 637662 7:13 pm

an acceptable difference between arm pressures is 10 (so like for me my left arm would read 130/80 and my right would read 120/72, which is acceptable).

If your getting nubmers greater then 10 (so say 120/70 and 140/90) then you need to be checked by the doc to rule out any narrowing of arteries etc.. (it CAN just be the way your body works but it should be investigated)

BTW your numbers are already high enough that your BP is probably high (since your getting readings in both arms over 90)

fnaz

Postby fnaz » Wed Jan 25, 637662 5:38 pm