Post Reply FAQ Members Login

Magnesium Sulfate

Are you part of the NICU club? Do you have a child who is still struggling with the effects of being born too soon from preeclampsia? Share your concerns and stories here among parents who have been there.

Magnesium Sulfate

Postby zoe526 » Sat Sep 01, 2007 04:53 pm

by zoe526 (5 Posts), Sat Sep 01, 2007 04:53 pm

I had severe preeclampsia 2 years ago with my first daughter. I was given "MAG" and had a severe reaction. Has anyone else had a problem with this stuff. My liver was inflamed and I was in pain for 3 hours. The delivery dr. told my husband it looked like I had been drinking for 30 years. Further more if you were were you told of any complications to the baby??? I wasn't and was shocked to find out some while doing a web search.
zoe526

Re : Magnesium Sulfate

Postby mommyboo » Sat Sep 01, 2007 05:30 pm

by mommyboo (162 Posts), Sat Sep 01, 2007 05:30 pm

Are they sure it was from the mag? My liver was like that when I developed HELLP syndrome.
Mag makes you feel awful and they consider it normal side effects. I couldn't stay awake, began throwing up, had hot and cold flashes and a headache. They also said it wouldn't do anything to the baby. It did nothing long term but she did have some side effects. She had the same side effects I did and had to have her mag levels checked numerous times.
mommyboo

Postby kara » Sat Sep 01, 2007 06:03 pm

by kara (6614 Posts), Sat Sep 01, 2007 06:03 pm